The THPP is a community care licensed placement opportunity for youth in foster care between the ages of 16 and 18 years old. The goal of THPP is to help participants emancipate successfully by providing a safe environment for youth while learning skills that can make them self-sufficient. Participants may live alone, with departmental approval, or with roommates in apartments and single-family dwellings with regular support and supervision provided by THPP agency staff, county social workers, and ILP coordinators. Supportive services include: educational guidance, employment counseling and assistance reaching emancipation goals outlined in a participant’s Transitional Independent Living Plan, the emancipation readiness portion of a youths’ case plan. The youth must also be participating in the Independent Living Program. Please refer to the Fact Sheet above for additional details about the program.
Transitional Housing Program-Plus (THP-Plus) for Former Foster/Probation Youth
THP-Plus is a transitional housing program for young adults who exited foster care (including those supervised by Probation) on or after their 18th birthday and are not yet 24 years of age (25 in counties that have opted to extend services per SB 1252). The housing models and services offered are similar to those offered in THPP, but the rules about the program will be age appropriate for young adults. Please refer to the Fact Sheet above for additional details about the program.
THP-Plus Housing Models
THP-Plus programs are not licensed but are certified by the county social services agency and the home receives a fire clearance, if required. A housing model could include apartments, single-family dwellings, condominiums, college dormitories, and host family models (living with people you know). Housing shelters or temporary accommodations with friends would not be considered a housing model.
Transitional Housing Placement-Plus-Foster Care (THP+FC)
Transitional Housing Placement-Plus-Foster Care (THP+FC) was created by Assembly Bill 12 (AB 12) and allows eligible foster youth to extend foster care beyond age 18 and up to age 21. The eligible foster youth are designated Non-Minor Dependents and are entitled to various foster placement options including Supervised Independent Living Settings. This new placement option provides transitional housing and supportive services based on a Transitional Independent Living Plan. AB 12 was authorized by the Federal Public Law (P.L.) 110-351, the Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act of 2008. For more information on the THP+FC eligibility and provider requirements please refer to All County Letter 12-44.
Assembly Bill 12
AB 12 was signed into law on September 30, 2010. This bill, which becomes effective on January 1, 2012, implements provisions of the Federal Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act of 2008 (PL 110-351) in California. One of the provisions of the Federal bill allows states to extend foster care up to age 21 to young adults who meet the federal participation criteria after age 18. California has opted to initiate the age limit by steps, i.e. by age 19 in 2012; by age 20 in 2013; and, may go up to age 21 depending on additional money being appropriated by the Legislature in 2014. A new foster care placement option called THP-Plus-FC was created via AB 12 as a placement option for these young adults called Non-Minor Dependents (NMDs). This program will offer similar housing models and supportive services to NMDs that are available in the current THP-Plus program. The specifics of this program are currently being developed. Additional resources may be found at California Fostering Connections .